Expert Panels

Ethics of AI for Neurotechnologies

NEC21 will host an expert panel moderated by Dr. Ricardo Chavarriaga on the “Ethics of AI for Neurotechnologies”.

This will discuss efforts between academics, industry stakeholders, and policy-makers to set the roadmap and establish standards for Neurotechnologies.

Supported by:  

Our Panelists


Katherine Bassil
Doctoral Fellow at the School of Mental Heath and Neurosciences, Maastricht University (NL). Founder & Host Neuroethics Today podcast.
Laura Cabrera, PhD

Chair in Neuroethics, Penn State (USA); Chair IEEE Brain Neuroethics Framework;  Board of Directors of the International Neuroethics Society (INS)

Philipp Kellmeyer, PhD

Head, Neuroethics and AI Ethics Lab at the University Medical Center Freiburg,  Board of Directors of the International Neuroethics Society (INS)

Damian Okaibedi Eke, PhD

Research fellow, Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility, De Montfort University Leicester (UK). Data Governance Coordinator for the EU Human Brain Project

Women in Neuroergonomics

NEC21 will host a panel of outstanding female researchers in Neuroergonomics to discuss barriers and challenges encountered during their academic career. Our panelists comprise of senior academic researchers and early career researchers in academia and industry. Each panelist will discuss their unique experiences – struggles and successes – as they entered and navigated the neuroergonomics research and practice arena.

This panel will be led by Dr. Ranjana Mehta and Dr. Carryl Baldwin, who were awarded the “Woman of the Year” in 2019 and 2020 respectively by HFE-WOMAN.

Dr. Ranjana Mehta

Carryl Baldwin

Carl and Rozina Cassat Distinguished Professor of Aging & Regional Institute on Aging, Director, Fairmount College Of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Wichita State University. Dr. Baldwin will discuss struggles and strategies for effectively navigating academic tenure and promotion processes for neuroergonomics researchers.

Dr. F. Emmerling (TUM)

Franziska Emmerling
PhD, Head of the TUM Neurophysiological Leadership Laboratory, Technical University of Munich. Dr. Emmerling holds a PhD in cognitive neuroscience from Maastricht University. Following her post-doctoral Nils Stensen Fellowship at Oxford University and an EU funded Marie Curie Individual Fellowship at the Technical University of Munich, she founded the TUM Neurophysiological Leadership Laboratory. Her research focusses on unraveling the neurophysiological mechanisms underlying aggression, impulse control, and destructive forms of leadership. Dr. Emmerling will discuss her journey of transitioning from a post-doctoral to a faculty role.

Oshin Tyagi
MS, PhD student, Neuroergonomics Laboratory, Texas A&M University. Oshin Tyagi holds a B.Tech in Production and Systems Engineering from IIT Roorkee, India and an MS in Industrial Engineering – Operations Research from Texas A&M University. Her research interests include Neuroergonomics, Stochastic Systems, and Networks, and their applications in designing effective human systems under stress. Oshin Tyagi will share her experiences and challenges as she prepares for an academic position in neuroergonomics.

Sarah Hopko
MS, PhD student, Neuroergonomics Laboratory, Texas A&M University. Sarah Hopko holds a BSA in Mathematics from the University of Texas at Austin and an MS in Industrial Engineering – Operations Research from Texas A&M University. Her research interests are in human factors and neuroergonomics to quantify trust in human-robot and automated systems. She is currently a user experience researcher intern at Facebook Reality Labs researching virtual and augmented reality experiences and will discuss how we can bridge gaps between neuroergonomics research and industry needs.